Why I stopped writing on Medium

Melissa-Jane Nguyen
2 min readJul 25, 2023

And where I’m at now

Witch Illustration by Melissa-Jane Fogarty (Nguyen)

This is the first thing I’ve written on Medium since 2021 (shock! horror!).

The reason I stopped writing here is pretty simple: I’d jump on first thing every morning and see a whole lot of stories I didn’t give a damn about.

All I could see were headlines about how to make it big on Medium, issues with Medium, how to make money, and so on. When I was loving Medium, I’d jump on in the mornings and devour articles and stories and bookmark others for later.

I couldn’t get enough of it.

But lots of things were changing, with Medium and with my writing career, and it just didn’t feel like this was the place for me anymore.

You can read about where I’m at with my writing (and for a little spoiler: picture book writing and illustration!) journey here:

And even since that post about finding my place, I’ve made big strides. I now have a literary agent and we’re just about to send my work out to publishers. Things are happening and moving in such…

--

--

Melissa-Jane Nguyen

Writer and editor. Writing about parenting, writing and life. Working on YA novel. Tea drinker. Book lover. Wife. Mother. https://melissajane.substack.com/